SASP 2008


Important dates

Call for abstracts

Scientific programme

Social programme



General information

Contact information


The River Aura and the Turku CathedralInvitation to the 31st Annual SASP Congress and Pain course

We have a great pleasure to announce the 31st Congress of the Scandinavian Association for the Study of Pain (SASP) and a preceding SASP Pain Course on Risks, predictive factors, and prevention of chronic pain that will take place in Turku, Finland, from 8 – 11 May 2008. The SASP Pain Course will take place on the 8th  May (Thursday) and the SASP congress 9 – 11 May 2008 (Friday through Sunday). We warmly welcome all colleagues working in the field of pain medicine.

The scientific program includes plenary lectures, oral presentations of original research by young investigators, and guided poster tours. The main topics of the scientific program cover neurobiology, genetics and other risk factors of chronic pain as well as new treatment options for pain from attention management to repetitive transcranial magnetic stimulation. In addition, special aspects of assessment, treatment and chronification of pain in children as well as new diagnostic methods for small fibre neuropathy will be highlighted. All participants from different fields of expertise in pain medicine, research, and treatment are encouraged to present free papers that will be selected for oral or poster sessions after peer review by the SASP board members.

The congress venue is a newly renovated congress hotel, Radisson SAS Marina Palace, located centrally in Turku on the bank of the river Aurajoki. The Congress will begin with an opening ceremony and Welcome reception on the evening of Friday, 9 May 2008.  The Gala Dinner will start with appetizers on board M/S Lily taking us through the beautiful archipelago of Turku to a 19th century restaurant in the picturesque, medieval seaside town of Naantali.

Let’s make together a memorable meeting combining high scientific quality with a relaxed social atmosphere and many inspiring discussions.

The local organizing committee is looking forward to seeing you in Turku!
Satu Jääskeläinen

Heli Forssell
Nora Hagelberg
Seija Heikkonen
Eija Kalso
Antti Pertovaara
Sanna Salanterä
Seppo Soinila
Tero Taiminen



Suomen Joutsen  

Registration and accommodation:

Congress Office/SASP 2008
University of Turku
Lemminkäisenkatu 14-18 A
20520 Turku, Finland

Tel. +358 2 333 6485 or 6342
Fax +358 2 333 5008


Design 2007 by Mika Elmeranta
Photos by Turku City Image Bank

Browser support:
Internet Explorer 7 or later, Firefox,
Opera, Netscape Navigator 8 or later for optimal viewing.

Valid CSS! Valid XHTML 1.0 Transitional