Call for papers
Important dates
Preliminary Programme
Social Programme
General Information
Useful Links

European Public Choice Society


Note: Please check the box on the left of the session name to reveal more information and links to the programme details.

You can also find the printable programme in .pdf format here.

Thursday 20 April

13:00 Registration desk opens at Turku School of Economics

15:00-16:30 Contributed sessions A

A1 Governance I, chair Erik Fasten
A2 Choice Procedure I, chair Aki Lehtinen
A3 Direct Democracy, chair Justina Fischer
A4 Experiment, chair Edward Lopez
A5 Group Dynamics and Control, chair Mario Ferrero
A6 Democracy I, chair Jose Casas Pardo


16:30-17:30 Contributed sessions B

B1 Governance II, chair Matthias Benz
B2 Choice Procedure II, chair Miguel Martínes-Panero
B3 Rent Seeking, chair Johannes Münster
B4 European Union I, chair Philipp Mohl
B5 Parties and Bureaucracies , chair Peter Söderlund
B6 Integration and Mobility, chair Sara Borella


17:30-18:00 Coffee Break

18.00-18.10 Welcome, rector Tapio Reponen (Turku School of Economics)

18:10-19:30 Presidential Address, chair Mika Widgren
Jakob de Haan (University of Groningen)
Political Institutions and Economic Growth

19:30- The City of Turku Reception at Wäinö Aaltonen Museum
(Transportation is provided from Turku School of Economics)


Friday 21 April

09:00-11:00 Contributed Sessions C

C1 Corruption I, chair Toke Aidt
C2 Game-theoretic Models I, chair Bernhard Pachl
C3 European Union II, chair Friedrich Heinemann
C4 Fiscal Policy I, chair Jakob de Haan
C5 Redistribution I, chair Ahmet Aysan
C6 Political Competition, chair Athanassios Pitsoulis
C7 Reciprocity, Trust and Social Capital I, chair Justina Fischer
C8 Local Governance I, chair Peter Haug


11:00-11:30 Coffee Break

11:30-13:30 Contributed Sessions D

D1 Corruption II, chair Samia Tavares
D2 Central Banking, chair Adam Gersl
D3 European Union III, chair Luisa Giuriato
D4 Voting I, chair Frans van Winden
D5 Governance III , chair Tuomas Takalo
D6 Fiscal Policy II, chair Jaakko Kiander
D7 Constitutions, chair Roger Congleton
D8 Institutional Preferences and Electoral Change, chair Richard Jong-A-Pin


13:30-15:00 Lunch

15.00-15.10 Greetings of the University of Turku, Rector Keijo Virtanen

15:10-16:30 Plenary Session I, chair Hannu Nurmi
Donald Saari (University of California, Irvine)
All those frustrating "Choice Dictators;" what do they really

16:30-17:00 Coffee Break

17:00-19:00 Contributed Sessions E

E1 Public Production, chair Leif Helland
E2 Government Size, chair Axel Dreher
E3 European Union IV, chair Jan Fidrmuc
E4 Happiness, chair Christian Bjørnskov
E5 Political Cycles, chair Jaakko Kiander
E6 Competition, chair Heide Coenen
E7 Local Governance II, chair John Ashworth
E8 Education, chair Felix Muehe


18:00-19:00 NEAR meeting on Economics and Religion

19:00-21:00 Reception at Turku School of Economics

19:30- EPCS Board Meeting


Saturday 22 April

09:00-11:00 Contributed Sessions F

F1 Public Goods, chair Miguel Puchades Navarro
F2 Democracy II, chair Stefan Voigt
F3 Axiomatic Models II, chair Nick Baigent
F4 International political Economy, chair Jose Tavares
F5 Game-theoretic Applications II, chair Emma Galli
F6 Reciprocity, Trust and Social Capital II, chair Peter Nannestad
F7 Power, chair Frank Steffen
F8 Extremism and Terrorism, chair Ronald Wintrobe


11:00-11:30 Coffee Break

11:30-13:00 Plenary Session II, chair Hannu Nurmi
Manfred Holler (University of Hamburg)
Power, Responsibility and Guilt in a Parliamentary System

13:00-14:00 Lunch

14:00-18:00 Excursion

19.30-23:00 Conference Dinner at Turku Castle
(Transportation is provided from the hotels at 19.00)


Sunday 23 April

09:00-11:00 Contributed Sessions G

G1 Growth and Development, chair Martin Paldam
G2 Policy Quality, chair Michael Funk
G3 State and Governance, chair Frank Bohn
G4 Law and Economics, chair Magnus Hoffmann
G5 Political Parties II, chair Ivo Bischoff
G6 Regulation and Government Intervention, chair Arye Hillman
G7 Voting II , chair Antti Pajala
G8 Centralisation and Decentralisation, chair Jan Schnellenbach


11:00-11:30 Coffee Break

11:30-13:00 Plenary Session III, chair Mika Widgren
Richard Baldwin (Graduate Institute for International Studies)
The political economy of future European integration

13:00-14:00 Members Meeting