Åbo Akademi

Polysaccharides as a Source of Advanced Materials
September 21-24, 2009
Turku/Åbo, Finland

Nature produces thousand billion tons of biomass materials every year, of which polysaccharides e.g. cellulose and chitin are the planets most important natural structural polymers. As concern increases about the environment and the limited lifetime of fossil fuels, polysaccharides will become a major source of materials in the next decade. A complete new industry will emerge based on utilisation of biomass, requiring new scientific skills and cross-disciplinary approach in research and education. We warmly welcome researchers, scientists and professionals from industry and universities with an interest in polysaccharides to Turku, Finland for the first international conference organized by The European Polysaccharide Network of Excellence (EPNOE). Our international scientific committee formed by world class experts will create the basis for a creative and innovative program. Your contribution, your participation, your support will create a unique forum for scientific discussion, networking and inspiration of young students in this booming and fantastic field.



Maria Cristina Area
Universidad Nacional de Misiones, Argentina

Thomas Bechtold
University of Innsbruck, Austria

Thomas Rosenau
University of Natural Resources and Applied Life Sciences, Austria

Telma Franco
State University of Campinas, Brazil

Elisabete Frolini
Universidade de São Paulo, Brazil

Steve W Cui
Agriculture and Agri-food, Canada

Derek Gray
McGill University, Canada

Jaime Rodriguez
Universidad de Concepcion, Chile

Lina Zhang
Wuhan University, China

Johanna Buchert
VTT Technical Research Centre of Finland

Bjarne Holmbom
Åbo Akademi University, Finland

Maija Tenkanen 
University of Helsinki, Finland

Redouane Borsali
CermaV, France

Patrick Navard
ARMINES-Ecole des Mines de Paris/CNRS, France

Hans-Peter Fink
Fraunhofer-Institute for Applied Polymer Research, Germany

Thomas Heinze
Friedrich-Schiller-Universität Jena, Germany

Jurgen Puls
University of Hamburg, Germany

N. Jayaraman
Indian Institute of Science, India

Akira Isogai
University of Tokyo, Japan

Fumiaki Nakatsubo
Kyoto University, Japan


Katsuyoshi Nishinari
Osaka City University, Japan

Yoshiyuki Nishio
Kyoto University, Japan

Henk A Schols
University of Wageningen, The Netherlands

Gudmund Skjåk-Bræk
Norwegian University of Science and Technology (NTNU), Norway

Danuta Ciechanska
Institute of Biopolymers and Chemical Fibres (IBWCh), Poland

Carlos Pascoal Neto
University of Aveiro, Portugal

Valentin I. Popa
Technical University of Jassy, Romania

Bogdan C. Simionescu
“Petru Poni” Institute of Macromolecular Chemistry, Romania

Karin Stana-Kleinscheck
University of Maribor, Slovenia

Ulf Germgård
Karlstad University, Sweden

Sigbritt Karlsson
KTH The Royal Institute of Technology, Sweden

Björn Lindman
University of Lund, Sweden

Timothy Foster
University of Nottingham, UK

Steve Harding
University of Nottingham, UK

Simon B. Ross-Murphy
King's College London, UK

Kevin J. Edgar
Virginia Tech, USA

Wolfgang Glasser
Virginia Tech, USA

Jay-lin Jane
Iowa State University, USA

Orlando Rojas
North Carolina State University, USA

Charles Q. Yang
The University of Georgia, USA


EPNOE Education Task Force

Pedro Fardim (Program chair)
Åbo Akademi University, Finland

Anton Huber
Univ. Graz, Austria

John Mitchell
University of Nottingham, UK

Valeria Harabagiu
“Petru Poni” Institute of Macromolecular Chemistry
Iasi, Romania

Annika Holmbom
EPNOE Education Officer
Åbo Akademi University, Finland

Valid HTML 4.01 Transitional  Valid CSS!
© 2008 Design by Mika Elmeranta for the Congress Office



Guidelines for presenters


Programme overview

Programme schedule

Short courses

Social programme



General information

Travel information

Contact information


EPNOE website